Zalaegerszegi TE

Zalaegerszegi TE
Official Website:
Stadium: ZTE Aréna, Zalaegerszeg
Capacity: 11,200

Zalaegerszegi Torna Egylet (ZTE) were formed in 1920 although can trace their roots back to 1912, during the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Their progress was halted by the outbreak of World War I. ZTE’s league history began in 1924, when they joined the Hungarian second division. The club won the title a decade later and entered the top flight in 1934. However, the start of World War II under the regime of Admiral Miklós Horthy saw ZTE’s field and equipment confiscated. After the war, in 1957, ZTE merged with two other local teams, signalling the rebirth of the club.

It was 1994 before ZTE were able to get any real stronghold in the top flight and their only championship win came in season 01/02. In the 2002–03 UEFA Champions League qualifying phase ZTE defeated Croatian champions NK Zagreb on away goals. In the third qualifying round ZTE were faced with Manchester United. In the first leg, ZTE provided a stunning shock by winning 1–0 in Hungary with a last minute goal from Béla Koplárovics. However, in the return leg at Old Trafford, Man United were convincing 5–0 winners. In season 2006–07 ZTE finished third securing a place in the European competitions of the Intertoto Cup 2007.

They were eventually relegated to the NB2 in 2012 and returned to the NB1 in season 2019-20.

Manager: Róbert Waltner
Last season: 9th
Leading scorer: Regő Szánthó – 10 goals

Nemzeti Bajnokság I
* Winners (1): 2001–02
* Third place (1): 2006–07
Nemzeti Bajnokság II
* Winners (1): 2018–19
Magyar Kupa
* Runner-up (1): 2009–10