Újpest FC

Újpest FC
Official Website: www.ujpestfc.hu
Stadium: Illovszky Rudolf Stadion (Temporary Groundshare)
Capacity: 5,054

Formed in 1885, Újpest, are the longest running football club in Hungary. They reached the first division of the Hungarian League in 1905 and have only been relegated once since then (1910/11). The club has been a member of the first division for 107 consecutive years.

Újpest have been Hungarian champions twenty times, have won the Magyar Kupa ten times and the Szuperkupa three times. In international competitions Újpest are two-times winners of the Mitropa Cup and winners of the 1930 Coupe des Nations. They also reached the semi-finals of the European Cup 1973–74 and the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup 1961–62, and were runners-up in the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup 1968–69.

Since 17 September 1922 their home ground has been the Szusza Ferenc Stadion in Újpest, previously known as Megyeri úti stadium, it was named after the club’s legendary player, Ferenc Szusza in October 2003. They are currently housed temporarily at the Illovszky Rudolf Stadion, whilst undersoil heating is being installed at the Szusza Ferenc Stadion.

On 3 July 2017, Újpest FC announced that they changed their crest, a move which has greatly angered and is still not accepted by their supporters, UTE, the mayor of Újpest, Újpest’s Cultural Society and many other famous residents and honorary citizens who continue to campaign for the return of the proper crest. The anchor depicted in the proper crest is not only part of the club’s badge but a part of the town’s coat of arms and represents the important role its port played in the district’s history.

Manager: Nebojsa Vignjevic – starting his 6th full season
Last season: 5th
Leading scorer: Soma Novothny – 9 goals
Top players: Robert Litauszki D, Kire Ristevski D, Obinna Nwobodo M
Captain: Robert Litauszki D

Key transfers in:
Aron Bjarnason F – from Breidablik (7 goals and 5 assists in 15 appearances)
Márk Koszta F – from Mezőkövesd (7 goals and 4 assists in 26 appearances)
Karol Mészáros F – from Haladás (2 goals and 2 assists in 20 appearances)

Key transfers out:
Alassane Diallo M – released
Lacina Traoré F – to CFR Cluj
Giorgi Beridze F – to Gent
Patrik Tischler F – to Kisvárda
Dániel Nagy M – to Mezőkövesd
Mijusko Bojovic D – to Keshla (Azerbaijan)