Puskás Akadémia FC

Puskás Akadémia FC
Official Website: www.pfla.hu
Stadium: Pancho Aréna, Felcsút
Capacity: 3,816

Puskás Ferenc Labdarugó Akadémia, commonly known as Puskás Akadémia FC or simply Puskás Akadémia, were founded in 2005 in Felcsút, Hungary. The aim of the founders was to establish an academy for Videoton (Now MOL Fehérvár) and to establish a fitting memorial to former Hungarian national footballer Ferenc Puskás, despite the team not actually having any academy players or Ferenc Puskás having any links to either Videoton or Felcsút! For this reason alone they are hated and mocked in Hungary with the vast majority of fans refusing to use the made up name and simply referring to them instead as Felcsút.

This is the clubs 2nd spell in the NB1, the first being between season 2013/14 and 2015/16. Following relegation they were immediately re-promoted as champions of the NB2 in time for season 2017/18.

They do have the most beautiful, in architectural terms at least, stadium. The Pancho Aréna, which has a capacity of 3,816 – more than double the population of Felcsút. They just don’t have any fans to go in it.

The nearest they have come to any top flight success is as runners up in the 2017/18 Magyar Kupa final, losing to Újpest on penalties.

Manager: Zsolt Hornyak – started 1 July
Last season: 7th
Leading scorer: Josip Knezevic – 12 goals
Top players: Kamen Hadzhiev CB; Josip Knezevic F; Jozef Urblik M
Captain: Roland Szolnoki D

Key transfers in:
Gol-Gol Mebrahtu F – spent last two seasons in Czech league, very little playing time. 
Ezekiel Henty F – loan return from Osijek – 5 goals in 22 appearances
David Vanecek F – from Hearts (SPL) disappointing spring season
Lóránd Fülöp M – from Botosani – 16 goals in 54 appearances
Thomas Meißner D – from Willem II – regular center back for them
Yoëll van Nieff M – from Heracles Almelo – bit part player (15 appearances)

Key transfers out:
Adrian Rus D – to Fehérvár
Liridon Latifi M – to Sheriff Tiraspol
Bachana Arabuil F – to Panionios
Márk Szécsi F – to Debrecen
Branislav Danilovic GK – to Diósgyőr
András Radó F – to Zalaegerszeg
Balázs Balogh M – Paks