Diósgyőri VTK

Diósgyőri VTK
Official Website: www.dvtk.eu
Stadium: Diósgyőri Stadion, Miskolc
Capacity: 15,325

Diósgyőr-Vasgyári Testgyakorlók Köre, more commonly known as Diósgyőri VTK or simply DVTK were founded 6 February 1910. The football club enjoyed its first golden age in the late ’70s and early ’80s, including a third place in the 1978–79 season of the Hungarian League and two Hungarian Cup triumphs in 1977 and 1980. DVTK have spent most of their history in the top tier of Hungarian football. They have never won the championship.

On 5 May 2018, the Diósgyőri Stadion, Miskolc was opened officially. The first official match was played between Diósgyőr and Mezkőkövesd in the 2017–18 NBI season. The match ended with a 1–0 win for Mezőkövesd. The only goal being scored by Dražić in the 88th minute of the game.

Diósgyőr have many passionate fans and are one of the most supported clubs in Hungary. On 19 July 2014, UEFA issued sanctions against Diósgyőr, following racist behaviour by their fans during the 2014–15 UEFA Europa League qualifying matches against Birkirkara. During the last 2 seasons they have managed to just avoid relegation on the last day of the season.

Manager: Fernando Fernández – starting his second full season
Last season: 10th
Leading scorer: Richárd Vernes F – 7 goals, 4 assists
Top players: Dusan Brkovic D, Mátyás Tajti M; Florent Hasani F
Captain: Botond Antal GK

Key transfers in:
Haris Tabakovic F – from Debrecen
Branislav Danilovic GK – from Puskás
Joachim Adukor M – from Sarajevo (1 goal, 2 assists in 19 appearances) 

Key transfers out:
Richárd Vernes F – Hapoel Kfar Saba
Tomislav Mazalovic M – Inter Zapresic