Budapest Honvéd

Budapest Honvéd
Official Website:
Stadium: Hidegkuti Nándor Stadion (Groundshare)
Capacity: 8,000

Originally formed in 1909 as Kispest AC, they became Kispest FC in 1926 before reverting to their original name in 1944. The team enjoyed a golden age during the 1950s when it was renamed Budapesti Honvéd SE and became the Hungarian Army team.

The club’s top players from this era, Ferenc Puskás, Sándor Kocsis, József Bozsik, Zoltán Czibor, and Gyula Grosics formed the nucleus of the legendary Hungarian team known as the Mighty Magyars and helped the club win the Hungarian League four times during the 1950s.

During the 1980s and early 1990s the club enjoyed another successful period, winning a further eight Hungarian League titles. They also won league and cup doubles in 1985 and 1989. In 1991 the club was renamed Kispest Honvéd FC and adopted its current name in 2003.

At domestic level they first entered the NBI in the 1916–17 season. Their first success came in the 1926 Magyar Kupa season when they beat Budapesti EAC in the final. In total they have won the NB1 14 times and the Magyar Kupa 7 times.

Manager: Ferenc Horváth
Last season: 10th
Leading scorer: Dániel Gazdag – 13 goals

Nemzeti Bajnokság I
* Winners (14): 1949–50, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1955, 1979–80, 1983–84, 1984–85, 1985–86, 1987–88, 1988–89, 1990–91, 1992–93, 2016–17
Magyar Kupa
* Winners (8): 1925–26, 1964, 1984–85, 1988–89, 1995–96, 2006–07, 2008–09, 2019–20
* Quarter final (1): 1979/79
Mitropa Cup
* Winners (1): 1959
Trofeo Ciudad de Vigo
* Winners (1): 1974