2 Hungarian match officials involved in U19 games

The UEFA European U19 Championship qualifiers kick off this week, with 52 nations taking part as they try to qualify for the finals in Finland next summer. Hosts Finland automatically qualify whilst Spain and Portugal have been both been given a bye until the elite round which commences next spring.  The top 2 teams from each qualifying group qualify for the elite round, from there the 7 teams who win their respective groups will join Finland for the finals next summer. Each qualifying group is allocated 3 referees from nations in different groups, each referee takes 1 Assistant referee with them and a further Assistant referee and fourth official are provided by the home nation hosting the group.

Group 7
Date: 4-10 October 2017
Host Country: Republic of Ireland
Teams: Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Republic of Ireland, Serbia
Referees: Alain Durieux (Luxembourg), Ferenc Karakó (Hungary), Nikola Popov (Bulgaria)
Referee Observers: Vadims Direktorenko (Latvia), Haim Jakov (Israel)

Mr Karakó will be joined by Theodoros Georgiou. Good Luck gents – We wish you every success in the forthcoming tournament.

Our U19 National team are also taking part in the qualifiers:

Group 4
Date: 4-10 October 2017
Host Country: Netherlands
Teams: Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Slovenia
Referees: Jørgen Daugbjerg Burchardt (Denmark), Sergey Ivanov (Russia), Alper Ulusoy (Turkey)
Referee Observers: Konrad Plautz (Austria), Vlado Svilokos (Croatia)

Hajrá Magyarország